ABOUT

The Berlinale, along with Cannes and Venice, counts as one of the oldest and most important competitive festivals in the world. It is also a public festival selling more than 332,000 tickets to the city’s cinephiles.

Every year, the Festival presents about 400 films, including some 100 short films, the vast majority of which are world or European premieres. The Berlinale is a very dynamic, cosmopolitan and full-service film festival with many elements that are of significant interest to the Canadian film industry and filmmakers. For 2021, adjustments in the festival structure, the film programming and the total number of invited films will be defined by the festival management as the current situation evolves.

In 2020, 18,518 visiting professionals from 132 countries — including 3,447 journalists — attended the Festival.


Festival Sections and Sidebars open to Canadian films

New Canadian films are eligible for consideration in different sections of the Berlinale, each with its own unique profile.


Official Competition

In recent years, Canada has often presented films in this prestigious section including Ghost Town Anthology (Répertoire des villes disparues) by the director Denis Côté in 2019.

In 2021, the International Jury will award prizes in a gender-neutral way. Instead of the awards for the Best Actor and the Best Actress, a “Silver Bear for Best Leading Performance” and a “Silver Bear for Best Supporting Performance” shall each be awarded on a gender-neutral basis.

Encounters

Encounters is new section aiming to foster aesthetically and structurally daring works from independent, innovative filmmakers. Its goal is to support new perspectives in cinema and to give more room to diverse narrative and documentary forms in the official selection.

Panorama

This program strives to showcase world,international and European premieres of independent and art-house productions.

In 2017, Sylvain L’Espérance’s documentary, Combat au bout de la nuit, was selected.

Generation

Generation features filmsfor children and a young audience. No short films will be presented in 2021.

Last year, Pompeiby John Shank and Anna Falguères was presented in this section as well as many short films.

Forum

Forum presents films that beat a new, unconventional path in filmmaking.

Berlinale Shorts

The Short Film Competition proposes an eclectic selection that explores the trends of the genre.

The Spirit Keepers of Makuta'ayby Yen-Chao Linwas selected in this section in 2019 as well as The Crying Conch (Le cri du lambi)by Vincent Toi in 2017.

Berlinale Special and Gala Special

The festival honours great cinema personalities and immerses audiences in cinematic history with these two programmes.

In 2017, Maudie by Aisling Walsh was selected in Berlinale Special. In 2019, Jennifer Baichwal & Edward Burtynsky were invited to present Anthropocene in this section and in 2020 Philippe Falardeau presented My Salinger Year.

À PROPOS

La Berlinale, à l’instar des festivals de Cannes et de Venise, est l’un des plus anciens et des plus importants festivals compétitifs au monde. C’est aussi un festival public où plus de 332 000 billets sont vendus aux cinéphiles de la ville.

Chaque année, le Festival sélectionne près de 400 films, incluant 100 courts métrages, dont la vaste majorité est présentée en première mondiale ou européenne. La Berlinale est un festival de film très dynamique, cosmopolite et multiservice, dont plusieurs volets représentent un intérêt particulier pour l’industrie cinématographique et les cinéastes du Canada. En 2021 des ajustements à la structure du festival, la programmation et le nombre de films invités seront définis par la direction du festival à mesure que la situation évolue.

En 2020, 18 518 professionnels provenant de 132 pays — dont 3 447 journalistes — ont assisté au festival.


Les sections et programmes du Festival ouverts aux films canadiens

Les nouveaux films canadiens sont admissibles à différents volets de la Berlinale, qui ont chacun leurs particularités.


Compétition officielle

Plusieurs films canadiens ont été présentés dans cette section, la plus prestigieuse du festival dont Répertoire des villes disparues réalisé par Denis Côté en 2019.

En 2021, le Jury international décernera les prix sans spécification du genre. Au lieu des prix pour le Meilleur acteur et la Meilleure actrice, un « Ours d’argent pour la meilleure performance de premier plan » et un « Ours d’argent pour la meilleure performance de soutien » seront attribués sur une base neutre.

Encounters

Encounters est une nouvelle section compétitive qui vise à mettre de l’avant des films innovateurs de réalisateurs indépendants. Son but est de supporter de nouvelles perspectives en cinéma et une plus grande diversité de formes tant en fiction qu’en documentaire.

Panorama

Ce volet de la sélection présente des productions indépendantes et des films d’art et d’essai en première mondiale, internationale ou européenne.

En 2017, le documentaire de Sylvain L’Espérance, Combat au bout de la nuit, a été sélectionné.

Generation

Generation se consacre à des films pour jeune public. Aucun court métrage ne sera présenté en 2021.

L’an dernier, Pompei de John Shank et Anna Falguères ainsi que plusieurs courts métrages ont été présentés dans cette section.

Forum

Le Forum présente des films qui empruntent des sentiers nouveaux et non conventionnels.

BerlinaleShorts

Cette section compétitive présente une sélection éclectique de courts métrages qui explore les tendances du genre.

The Spirit Keepers of Makuta'ayde Yen-Chao Lina été sélectionné dans cette section en 2019 ou encore Le cri du lambide Vincent Toi en 2017.

Berlinale Special et Gala Special

Le Festival honore les grandes personnalités du cinéma et plonge le public dans l’histoire cinématographique à travers ces deux sections.

En 2017, Maudie de Aisling Walsh a été sélectionné dans Berlinale Special.En 2019, Anthropocene de Jennifer Baichwal et Edward Burtynsky et en 2020 My Salinger Year de Philippe Falardeau ont été présentés dans cette même section.